Plenary Speakers

Ana Abarzua

Universidad Austral de Chile

She is a young researcher from Universidad Austral de Chile. Valdivia . Her  main areas of interest are Palynology and Paleobotany during the Neogene, to understand how vegetation and climate have changed in the past. Ana works in lakes and swamps in central-southern Chile analyzing multiple paleoenvironmental indicators from  lake sediments, such as pollen, spores, diatoms, carbon, tephra and geochemistryHer current research focused in paleontological and socio-cultural studies using fossil flora from different sites in the Chilean territory.


Daniel Ariztegui

University of Ginebra

After obtaining his  degree in geology at the University of La Plata in Argentina (1981), Daniel Ariztegui worked for several years in industry before returning to academia. He was a visiting student at the University of Miami in the U.S. before moving to Zürich, Switzerland, where he obtained his doctoral degree in 1993 at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH). He held the positions of Lecturer and Research Fellow at this institution in Zürich  between 1993 and 2000 where he was head of the Laboratory of Limnogeology. His research efforts focused in lacustrine records of environmental and climate changes with special emphasis in Latin America. In the year 2000 he moved to Geneva (Switzerland)  where he became professor of limnogeology and geomicrobiology at the Department of Earth Sciences of the University of Geneva. More recently his research interest has been focused in the impact of microbial activity in the sediments as well as the role of microbes in mineralization processes using a modern analogue approach. The results of his research team have implications to understand Archean environments and early life on Earth and other planets. Daniel has been always involved in services to the community serving as vice president and subsequently president of the International Association of Limnogeology (IAL) and is currently president of the International Association of Sedimentologists (IAS).

Jose Esteban Castro

UBA - FLACSO - Oxford

José Esteban Castro has an interdisciplinary background. He has a BA in Sociology (UBA, Argentina), a Master in Social Science (FLACSO, Mexico), and a DPhil in Politics (Oxford). He taught Urban Sociology at UBA, was Senior Associate Researcher at Oxford, Lecturer in Development Studies at LSE (London), and Lecturer in Political Ecology at UCL (London). He is an Emeritus Professor at Newcastle University (UK). Castro led the creation of the research network WATERLAT-GOBACIT ( dedicated to research, teaching and practical action in relation to water policy and management.

He coordinated PRINWASS, an international research project funded by the European Commission (, which consisted of a critical examination of policies that promote private participation in water and sanitation services. He also coordinated DESAFIO (, a project also financed by the EU, which studied the implementation of socio-technical innovations to fight inequality and injustice in relation to basic water and sanitation services in Argentina, Brazil and Colombia. He coordinates the international research network WATERLAT-GOBACIT (, 

Beatriz Modenutti


Beatriz Modenutti is a CONICET Researcher (Superior) at INIBIOMA (Bariloche, Argentina) and Full Professor of Limnology at the Department of Ecology of the University of Comahue, where she currently is the Head of the Postgraduate Program (PhD in Biology). Her main research interest is lake ecology, including plankton diversity and food web structure, as well as different impacts on lake functioning. Her studies were mainly carried out in deep glacial lakes from the Patagonian Andes, focusing on the forces that determines the functioning and resilience of transparent and oligotrophic environments. Nowadays, a particular focus of her research includes the characterization of microbial communities and how they vary in time and space in response to local and global impacts. 

ECR award winner

ECR award winner

IAL Plenary speaker

IAL Plenary speaker

Will be announced in the 3rd circular

ECR award winner

ECR award winner

NEW deadline for abstract submission:  9 September